Thijs Menting

Purposiveness of nature in Kant’s third critique

ISBN: 978-3-86956-484-5
312 pages, Dissertation
Release year 2020

14,50 

NEU!

This dissertation aims to deliver a transcendental interpretation of Immanuel Kant’s Kritik der Urteilskraft, considering both its coherence with other critical works as well as the internal coherence of the work itself. This interpretation is called transcendental insofar as special emphasis is placed on the newly introduced cognitive power, namely the reflective power of judgement, guided by the a priori principle of purposiveness. In this way the seeming manifold of themes, varying from judgements of taste through culture to teleological judgements about natural purposes, are discussed exclusively in regard of their dependence on this faculty and its transcendental principle. In contrast, in contemporary scholarship the book is often treated as a fragmented work, consisting of different independent parts, while my focus lies on the continuity comprised primarily of the activity of the power of judgement. 
Going back to certain central yet silently presupposed concepts, adopted from previous critical works, the main contribution of this study is to integrate the KU within the overarching critical project. More specifically, I have argue how the need for the presupposition by the reflective power of judgement follows from the peculiar character of our sense-dependent discursive mind. Because we are sense-dependent discursive minds, we do not and cannot have immediate insight into all of nature’s features. The particular constitution of our mind rather demands conceptually informed representations which mediately refer to objects.
Having said that, the principle of purposiveness, namely the presupposition that nature is organized in concert with the particular constitution of our mind, is a necessary condition for the possibility of reflection on nature’s empirical features. Reflection refers on my account to a process of selecting features in order to allow a classification, including reflection on the method, means and selection criteria. Rather than directly contributing to cognition, like the categories, reflective judgements thus express our ignorance when it comes to the motivation behind nature’s design, and this is most forcefully expressed by judgements of taste and teleological judgements about organized matter. In this way, reflection, regardless whether it is manifested in concept acquisition, scientific systematization, judgements of taste or judgements about organized matter, relies on a principle of the power of judgement which is revealed and justified in this transcendental inquiry.

This dissertation aims to deliver a transcendental interpretation of Immanuel Kant’s Kritik der Urteilskraft, considering both its coherence with other critical works as well as the internal coherence of the work itself. This interpretation is called transcendental insofar as special emphasis is placed on the newly introduced cognitive power, namely the reflective power of judgement, guided by the a priori principle of purposiveness. In this way the seeming manifold of themes, varying from judgements of taste through culture to teleological judgements about natural purposes, are discussed exclusively in regard of their dependence on this faculty and its transcendental principle. In contrast, in contemporary scholarship the book is often treated as a fragmented work, consisting of different independent parts, while my focus lies on the continuity comprised primarily of the activity of the power of judgement. 
Going back to certain central yet silently presupposed concepts, adopted from previous critical works, the main contribution of this study is to integrate the KU within the overarching critical project. More specifically, I have argue how the need for the presupposition by the reflective power of judgement follows from the peculiar character of our sense-dependent discursive mind. Because we are sense-dependent discursive minds, we do not and cannot have immediate insight into all of nature’s features. The particular constitution of our mind rather demands conceptually informed representations which mediately refer to objects.
Having said that, the principle of purposiveness, namely the presupposition that nature is organized in concert with the particular constitution of our mind, is a necessary condition for the possibility of reflection on nature’s empirical features. Reflection refers on my account to a process of selecting features in order to allow a classification, including reflection on the method, means and selection criteria. Rather than directly contributing to cognition, like the categories, reflective judgements thus express our ignorance when it comes to the motivation behind nature’s design, and this is most forcefully expressed by judgements of taste and teleological judgements about organized matter. In this way, reflection, regardless whether it is manifested in concept acquisition, scientific systematization, judgements of taste or judgements about organized matter, relies on a principle of the power of judgement which is revealed and justified in this transcendental inquiry.

Thijs Menting

Purposiveness of nature in Kant’s third critique

ISBN: 978-3-86956-484-5
312 Seiten, Dissertation
Erscheinungsjahr 2020

14,50 

NEU!

Diese Studie verfolgt das Ziel, eine transzendentale Interpretation der Kritik der Urteilskraft von Immanuel Kant vorzulegen, welche sowohl den Zusammenhang mit den anderen kritischen Werken, als auch die interne Kohärenz des Buches berücksichtigt. Ich bezeichne die Interpretation als transzendental, weil das neu eingeführte Erkenntnisvermögen, nämlich die reflektierende Urteilskraft, zusammen mit seinem a priori Prinzip der Zweckmäßigkeit in den Fokus gerückt wird. Dies sollte es erlauben, die scheinbare Vielfalt der Themen (von ästhetischen Urteilen über Kultur bis hin zu teleologischen Urteilen über Naturzwecke), welche viele Interpreten in die Irre geführt hat, ausschließlich in Abhängigkeit dieses Erkenntnisvermögens und des entsprechenden transzendentalen Prinzips zu untersuchen. Auf diesem Weg wird nicht nur beabsichtigt, die Zugehörigkeit der Kritik der Urteilskraft zum transzendentalen Projekt Kants nachzuweisen, sondern außerdem auch das Prinzip der Zweckmäßigkeit in unserem reflexiven Verhältnis zur Natur zu etablieren.
Der wichtigste Beitrag dieser Studie besteht darin, die Kritik der Urteilskraft in das größere kritische Projekt einzuordnen. Ich habe argumentiert, wie das Bedürfnis für die Voraussetzung der reflektierenden Urteilskraft aus dem eigentümlichen Charater unseres sinnlichen und diskursiven Gemüts folgt. Da wir ein sinnliches und diskursives Gemüt haben, verfügen wir nicht über einen unmittelbaren Einblick in alle Merkmale der Gegenstände der empirischen Natur. Die eigentümliche Beschaffenheit unseres Gemüts erfordert begriffliche Vorstellungen, die sich mittelbar auf Objekte beziehen.
Das Prinzip der Zweckmäßigkeit, nämlich die Voraussetzung, dass die Natur unserem Gemüt angemessen organisiert ist, ist eine notwendige Bedingung für die Möglichkeit der Reflexion auf die empirischen Merkmale der Natur. Reflexion verweist in meinem Ansatz auf den Prozess der Auswahl von Merkmal für eine Klassifizierung, einschließlich die Reflexion auf die Methode, Mittel und Kriterien. Anstatt einen Beitrag zur Erkenntnis drücken Reflexionsurteile also Unwissenheit bezüglich der Intention hinter dem Entwurf der Natur, wie Geschmacksurteile und teleologische Urteile über organisierte Materie, am deutlichsten aus. So betrachtet hängt Reflexion, egal ob sie sich in Begriffsbildung, wissenschaftlicher Systematisierung, Geschmacksurteilen oder teleogischen Urteilen über organisierte Materie ausdrückt, von einem eigenen Prinzip der reflektierenden Urteilskraft ab, das in einer transzendentalen Untersuchung in der Kritik der Urteilskraft dargestellt und begründet wird.

Diese Studie verfolgt das Ziel, eine transzendentale Interpretation der Kritik der Urteilskraft von Immanuel Kant vorzulegen, welche sowohl den Zusammenhang mit den anderen kritischen Werken, als auch die interne Kohärenz des Buches berücksichtigt. Ich bezeichne die Interpretation als transzendental, weil das neu eingeführte Erkenntnisvermögen, nämlich die reflektierende Urteilskraft, zusammen mit seinem a priori Prinzip der Zweckmäßigkeit in den Fokus gerückt wird. Dies sollte es erlauben, die scheinbare Vielfalt der Themen (von ästhetischen Urteilen über Kultur bis hin zu teleologischen Urteilen über Naturzwecke), welche viele Interpreten in die Irre geführt hat, ausschließlich in Abhängigkeit dieses Erkenntnisvermögens und des entsprechenden transzendentalen Prinzips zu untersuchen. Auf diesem Weg wird nicht nur beabsichtigt, die Zugehörigkeit der Kritik der Urteilskraft zum transzendentalen Projekt Kants nachzuweisen, sondern außerdem auch das Prinzip der Zweckmäßigkeit in unserem reflexiven Verhältnis zur Natur zu etablieren.
Der wichtigste Beitrag dieser Studie besteht darin, die Kritik der Urteilskraft in das größere kritische Projekt einzuordnen. Ich habe argumentiert, wie das Bedürfnis für die Voraussetzung der reflektierenden Urteilskraft aus dem eigentümlichen Charater unseres sinnlichen und diskursiven Gemüts folgt. Da wir ein sinnliches und diskursives Gemüt haben, verfügen wir nicht über einen unmittelbaren Einblick in alle Merkmale der Gegenstände der empirischen Natur. Die eigentümliche Beschaffenheit unseres Gemüts erfordert begriffliche Vorstellungen, die sich mittelbar auf Objekte beziehen.
Das Prinzip der Zweckmäßigkeit, nämlich die Voraussetzung, dass die Natur unserem Gemüt angemessen organisiert ist, ist eine notwendige Bedingung für die Möglichkeit der Reflexion auf die empirischen Merkmale der Natur. Reflexion verweist in meinem Ansatz auf den Prozess der Auswahl von Merkmal für eine Klassifizierung, einschließlich die Reflexion auf die Methode, Mittel und Kriterien. Anstatt einen Beitrag zur Erkenntnis drücken Reflexionsurteile also Unwissenheit bezüglich der Intention hinter dem Entwurf der Natur, wie Geschmacksurteile und teleologische Urteile über organisierte Materie, am deutlichsten aus. So betrachtet hängt Reflexion, egal ob sie sich in Begriffsbildung, wissenschaftlicher Systematisierung, Geschmacksurteilen oder teleogischen Urteilen über organisierte Materie ausdrückt, von einem eigenen Prinzip der reflektierenden Urteilskraft ab, das in einer transzendentalen Untersuchung in der Kritik der Urteilskraft dargestellt und begründet wird.