Jan Thorben Wilkens

“Jewish, Gay and Proud”

The Founding of Beth Chayim Chadashim as a Milestone of Jewish Homosexual Integration



ISBN: 978-3-86956-492-0
119 pages, Paperback
Release year 2020

Series: Pri ha-Pardes , 13

9,00 

NEU!

This publication examines the foundation and institutional integration of the first gay-lesbian synagogue Beth Chayim Chadashim, which was founded in Los Angeles in 1972. As early as June 1974, the synagogue was admitted to the Union of American Hebrew Congregations, the umbrella organization of the Reform congregations in the United States. Previously, the potential acceptance of a congregation by and for homosexual Jews triggered an intense and broad debate within Reform Judaism. The work asks how it was possible to successfully establish a gay-lesbian synagogue at a time when homosexual acts were considered unnatural and contrary to tradition by almost the entire Jewish community. The starting point of the argumentation is, in addition to general changes in American synagogues after World War II, the assumption that Los Angeles was the most suitable place for this foundation. Los Angeles has an impressive queer history and the Jewish community was more open, tolerant and innovative here than its counterpart on the East Coast. The Metropolitan Community Church was also founded in the city, and as the largest religious institution for homosexual Christians, it also served as the birthplace of queer synagogues.

Reform Judaism was chosen as the place of institutional integration of the community because a relative openness for such an endeavor was only seen here. Responsa written in response to a potential admission of Beth Chayim Chadashim can be used to understand the arguments and positions of rabbis and psychologists regarding homosexuality and communities for homosexual Jews in the early 1970s.

Ultimately, the commitment and dedication of the congregation and its heterosexual supporters convinced the decision-makers in Reform Judaism. The decisive impulse to question the situation of homosexual Jews in Judaism came from Los Angeles. With its analysis, the publication contributes to the understanding of Queer Jewish History in general and queer synagogues in particular.

This publication examines the foundation and institutional integration of the first gay-lesbian synagogue Beth Chayim Chadashim, which was founded in Los Angeles in 1972. As early as June 1974, the synagogue was admitted to the Union of American Hebrew Congregations, the umbrella organization of the Reform congregations in the United States. Previously, the potential acceptance of a congregation by and for homosexual Jews triggered an intense and broad debate within Reform Judaism. The work asks how it was possible to successfully establish a gay-lesbian synagogue at a time when homosexual acts were considered unnatural and contrary to tradition by almost the entire Jewish community. The starting point of the argumentation is, in addition to general changes in American synagogues after World War II, the assumption that Los Angeles was the most suitable place for this foundation. Los Angeles has an impressive queer history and the Jewish community was more open, tolerant and innovative here than its counterpart on the East Coast. The Metropolitan Community Church was also founded in the city, and as the largest religious institution for homosexual Christians, it also served as the birthplace of queer synagogues.

Reform Judaism was chosen as the place of institutional integration of the community because a relative openness for such an endeavor was only seen here. Responsa written in response to a potential admission of Beth Chayim Chadashim can be used to understand the arguments and positions of rabbis and psychologists regarding homosexuality and communities for homosexual Jews in the early 1970s.

Ultimately, the commitment and dedication of the congregation and its heterosexual supporters convinced the decision-makers in Reform Judaism. The decisive impulse to question the situation of homosexual Jews in Judaism came from Los Angeles. With its analysis, the publication contributes to the understanding of Queer Jewish History in general and queer synagogues in particular.

Jan Thorben Wilkens

“Jewish, Gay and Proud”

The Founding of Beth Chayim Chadashim as a Milestone of Jewish Homosexual Integration



ISBN: 978-3-86956-492-0
119 Seiten, Paperback
Erscheinungsjahr 2020

Reihe: Pri ha-Pardes , 13

9,00 

NEU!

Diese Arbeit untersucht die Gründung und die institutionelle Integration der ersten schwul–lesbischen Synagoge Beth Chayim Chadashim, die 1972 in Los Angeles gegründet wurde. Bereits im Juni 1974 wurde die Synagoge in die Union of American Hebrew Congregations, dem Dachverband der U.S.-amerikanischen Reformgemeinden, aufgenommen. Zuvor löste die potentielle Aufnahme einer Gemeinde von und für homosexuelle Juden* eine intensive und breite Debatte innerhalb des Reformjudentums aus. Die Arbeit stellt die Frage, wie es möglich war, zu einer Zeit, in der homosexuelle Handlungen von fast der gesamten jüdischen Gemeinschaft als unnatürlich und wider der Tradition angesehen wurden, eine schwul-lesbische Synagoge erfolgreich zu etablieren. Ausgangspunkt der Argumentation ist neben allgemeinen Veränderungen in U.S.-amerikanischen Synagogen nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg die Annahme, dass Los Angeles der geeignetste Ort für diese Gründung war. Los Angeles hat eine beeindruckende queere Geschichte und die jüdische Gemeinschaft war hier offener, toleranter und innovativer als ihr Gegenpart an der Ostküste. In der Stadt wurde zudem die Metropolitan Community Church gegründet, die als größte religiöse Einrichtung für homosexuelle Christ*innen auch als Geburtsstätte queerer Synagogen fungierte.

Das Reformjudentum als Ort der institutionellen Integration der Gemeinde wurde gewählt, da nur hier eine relative Offenheit für ein solches Unternehmen gesehen wurde. Anhand von Responsen, die in Reaktion auf eine potentielle Aufnahme von Beth Chayim Chadashim verfasst wurden, können die Argumente und Positionen von Rabbinern und Psychologen bezüglich Homosexualität und Gemeinden für homosexuelle Juden* Anfang der 1970er-Jahre nachvollzogen werden.

Letztlich überzeugten das Engagement und die Hingabe der Gemeinde sowie ihre heterosexuellen Unterstützer*innen die Entscheidungsträger*innen im Reformjudentum. Dabei kam von Los Angeles heraus der entscheidende Impuls, die Situation homosexueller Juden* im Judentum zu hinterfragen und ihnen Gehör zu verschaffen. Mit ihrer Analyse leistet die Arbeit einen Beitrag zum Verständnis jüdisch-queerer Geschichte im Allgemeinen und queerer Synagogen im Besonderen.

Diese Arbeit untersucht die Gründung und die institutionelle Integration der ersten schwul–lesbischen Synagoge Beth Chayim Chadashim, die 1972 in Los Angeles gegründet wurde. Bereits im Juni 1974 wurde die Synagoge in die Union of American Hebrew Congregations, dem Dachverband der U.S.-amerikanischen Reformgemeinden, aufgenommen. Zuvor löste die potentielle Aufnahme einer Gemeinde von und für homosexuelle Juden* eine intensive und breite Debatte innerhalb des Reformjudentums aus. Die Arbeit stellt die Frage, wie es möglich war, zu einer Zeit, in der homosexuelle Handlungen von fast der gesamten jüdischen Gemeinschaft als unnatürlich und wider der Tradition angesehen wurden, eine schwul-lesbische Synagoge erfolgreich zu etablieren. Ausgangspunkt der Argumentation ist neben allgemeinen Veränderungen in U.S.-amerikanischen Synagogen nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg die Annahme, dass Los Angeles der geeignetste Ort für diese Gründung war. Los Angeles hat eine beeindruckende queere Geschichte und die jüdische Gemeinschaft war hier offener, toleranter und innovativer als ihr Gegenpart an der Ostküste. In der Stadt wurde zudem die Metropolitan Community Church gegründet, die als größte religiöse Einrichtung für homosexuelle Christ*innen auch als Geburtsstätte queerer Synagogen fungierte.

Das Reformjudentum als Ort der institutionellen Integration der Gemeinde wurde gewählt, da nur hier eine relative Offenheit für ein solches Unternehmen gesehen wurde. Anhand von Responsen, die in Reaktion auf eine potentielle Aufnahme von Beth Chayim Chadashim verfasst wurden, können die Argumente und Positionen von Rabbinern und Psychologen bezüglich Homosexualität und Gemeinden für homosexuelle Juden* Anfang der 1970er-Jahre nachvollzogen werden.

Letztlich überzeugten das Engagement und die Hingabe der Gemeinde sowie ihre heterosexuellen Unterstützer*innen die Entscheidungsträger*innen im Reformjudentum. Dabei kam von Los Angeles heraus der entscheidende Impuls, die Situation homosexueller Juden* im Judentum zu hinterfragen und ihnen Gehör zu verschaffen. Mit ihrer Analyse leistet die Arbeit einen Beitrag zum Verständnis jüdisch-queerer Geschichte im Allgemeinen und queerer Synagogen im Besonderen.